Botany 2001 Logo
 

Botany 2001
"Plants and People"

August 12 - 16, 2001
Albuquerque Convention Center
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Symposia and Symposium Organizers


PLENARY SYMPOSIUM
"Functional and comparative genomics: Evolutionary implications" (half-day). Organizer: Douglas Soltis, Washington State University, Pullman, E-mail: <dsoltis@mail.wsu.edu>.

BRYOLOGICAL AND LICHENOLOGICAL SECTION-AMERICAN BRYOLOGICAL AND LICHENOLOGICAL SOCIETY (ABLS)
"Form and function in bryophytes: Development, constraints and consequences" (half-day). Organizer: Angela E. Newton, The Natural History Museum, London, UK, Tele: +44 (0)207 942-5209, E-mail: <a.newton@nhm.ac.uk>.

"Lichen biodeterioration: Progress and problems" (half-day). Organizers: Larry St. Clair, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, Tele: (801) 378-4879, E-mail: <larry_stclair@byu.edu>, and Mark Seaward, The University, Bradford, Yorkshire, UK.

DEVELOPMENTAL AND STRUCTURAL SECTION-INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF WOOD ANATOMISTS (IAWA)
"Structural botany in systematics: A symposium in memory of William C. Dickison" (half-day). Organizer: Kenneth M. Cameron, The New York Botanical Garden, Bronx, Tele: (718) 817-8179, E-mail: <kcameron@nybg.org> and Dennis W. Stevenson, The New York Botanical Garden, Bronx, E-mail: <dws@nybg.org>.

ECOLOGICAL SECTION
"Plasticity in integrated phenotypes" (half-day). Organizer: Katherine A. Preston, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, Tele: (650) 723-6526, E-mail: <kap1@stanford.edu>, and Theodore G. Wong, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, E-mail: <tgwong@stanford.edu>.

PHYTOCHEMICAL SECTION & DEVELOPMENTAL AND STRUCTURAL SECTION
"Why leaves turn red: The function of anthocyanins in vegetative organs" (full-day). Organizers: David Lee, Florida International University, Miami, Tele: (305) 348-3111, E-mail: <Leed@fiu.edu>, Kevin Gould, University of Auckland, New Zealand, Tele: 9 3737 599 x7298, E-mail: <k.gould@auckland.ac.nz>, and James W. Wallace, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC, Tele: (828) 227-3659.

PTERIDOLOGY SECTION-AMERICAN FERN SOCIETY (AFS)
"Evolution and adaptations of pteridophytes in dry climates" (half-day). Organizers: George Yatskievych, Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Tele: (314) 577-9522, E-mail: <George.Yatskievych@mobot.org>, and Elisabeth Hooper, Truman State University, Kirksville, MO, Tele: (660) 785-4623, E-mail: <lhooper@truman.edu>.

SYSTEMATICS SECTION-AMERICAN SOCIETY OF PLANT TAXONOMISTS (ASPT)
"Linnaean taxonomy: A viable system for the new millennium?" (half-day). Organizers: Jerrold I. Davis, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, Tele: (607) 255-7980, E-mail: <JID1@cornell.edu>.

"Biogeography and phylogeny of Caribbean plants" (half-day). Organizers: Timothy McDowell, East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, Tele: (423) 439-6925, E-mail: <mcdowelt@etsu.edu>, and Peter W. Fritsch, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, Tele: (415) 750-7188, E-mail: <pfritsch@CalAcademy.org>

"ASPT Colloquium: Evolution, biogeography, and systematics of Begoniaceae" (half-day). Organizer: Susan M. Swensen, Ithaca College, Ithaca, Tele: (607) 274-3511, E-mail: <sswensen@ithaca.edu>, and Mark C. Tebbitt, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn, Tele: (718) 623-7319, E-mail: <marktebbitt@bbg.org>

INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATION OF PLANT BIOSYSTEMATISTS (IOPB)
"Origins and biology of desert flora" (half-day). Organizer: Timothy Lowrey, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, Tele: (505) 277-2604, E-mail: <tlowrey@unm.edu>.
Return to:  Botany 2001 HOME Return to TOP SEARCH  ABSTRACTS VIEW ABSTRACTS BSA HOME PAGE